Nine days

It has only been nine days since I felt the warmth of your strong arms wrapped around me. Only nine days since you, in the flesh, (as opposed to you, on my night stand) were the last thing I saw when I closed my eyes to sleep at night. And nine days since you were the first thing I saw when I opened them. Nine days filled with Skype calls, text messages, and the occasional snap chat. My eyes ache to see your smile almost as much as my ears ache to hear your voice.
In comparison to the time and distance the two of us have endured, nine days is about as small as it gets. But this time, it feels like an eternity. Being with you is home. And until this grand canyon sized gap between us is filled, I am not at home.
After what will seem like a decade, nine days will tick into thirty. And eventually, even it will tick into one hundred. And if things go as planned, once it hits one hundred and six, what was once nine days SINCE I saw you, will soon be nine days UNTIL I see you.
But who am I kidding? Because talking about the day that I will be counting down from nine is like talking about the day I am sitting in my rocking chair, knitting needles in hand. Decades away, almost in another lifetime. Too far away to see clearly.
Today I am weak, but I am proud. But tomorrow I will feel these emotions even more palpably. Because today I have survived nine days without you.
Tomorrow, I will survive ten.

image

About catyjotwin1

My name is Caitlan Neal. My husband and I have been dating since September, 2009, and Married since November, 2014. He joined the Marine Corps when I was a junior in high school. This blog is dedicated to the crazy journey of our lives that has been the United States Marine Corps, and how we finally broke through the distance and became the couple we are now.
This entry was posted in Marine Corps Daily. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment